Zabalist vs the construction data API market
Honest, sourced, side-by-side comparisons against the eight vendors buyers ask about most — national permit APIs, regional lead feeds, and enterprise gov-bid platforms. Every pricing claim is dated August 2026 and traces to a public source.
150K+ companies · 400K+ projects · 400K+ permits · 335K+ TDLR projects · All 254 Texas counties
National permit + contractor intelligence API
Zabalist vs Shovels.ai
Shovels covers more of the country; Zabalist covers Texas more deeply — TDLR licensing, appraisal history, and government bids joined to every company, not just a permit lookup.
CompareSelf-serve national permit API
Zabalist vs PermitStack
PermitStack sells the permit lookup transparently; Zabalist sells the same transparency plus the licensing, entity-graph, and bid joins PermitStack does not offer at any price.
CompareNational permit lead-gen + contractor intelligence
Zabalist vs Construction Monitor
Construction Monitor prices by opaque custom territory deals; Zabalist publishes flat self-serve tiers and adds the licensing and bid joins Construction Monitor does not disclose offering.
CompareLegacy regional permit-lead reports
Zabalist vs HBW / HBWeekly
HBW has covered Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, and Austin since 1992 — and still has no API. Zabalist gives you that same Texas metro depth as a self-serve API instead of a weekly PDF.
CompareTexas-heavy regional permit feed
Zabalist vs PermitVector
PermitVector is API-native and Texas-heavy, but its own coverage list has no Dallas or Houston proper. Zabalist adds statewide licensing and bid data on top of full-state coverage.
CompareNational pre-construction project & bid leads
Zabalist vs ConstructConnect
ConstructConnect deliberately keeps its API thin to protect its subscription platform. Zabalist's API is the product, with Texas licensing and bid joins fully exposed.
CompareNational project leads & market forecasting
Zabalist vs Dodge Construction Network
Dodge sells a sales-led API License Addendum with no published rate; Zabalist publishes four flat tiers you can subscribe to right now.
CompareGovernment bid/contract intelligence
Zabalist vs GovWin IQ
GovWin IQ averages about $29,000 a year for government-bid intelligence alone. Zabalist's Bid Intel starts at $39/mo and joins Texas bids to the same contractor and permit graph.
CompareSummary matrix
Coverage, pricing, and self-serve access, as of August 2026. See each comparison page for the full side-by-side, including data joins and honest trade-offs.
| Vendor | Coverage | Pricing | Self-serve |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zabalist | Texas only — all 254 counties | Free · $49/mo · $149/mo · $399/mo — published | Yes, from Free |
| Shovels.ai | National — 2,000–2,750 jurisdictions, ~85% of U.S. population | Online/API access starts at $599/month; the free tier allows 250 pings (down from a prior 1,000). Enterprise Data License (EDL) pricing is custom, delivered into Snowflake, BigQuery, or Databricks — as of August 2026. | Partial — entry API tier is self-serve; Enterprise Data License is custom/sales-led |
| PermitStack | National — 8,000+ cities | Free (100 requests/day) → Indie $29/mo → Hobbyist $39/mo → Developer $79/mo (most popular) → Business $149/mo → Enterprise custom. Contractor Leads run $79–249/mo per ZIP; one-time city data exports run $39–349; roughly a 17% discount on annual billing — as of August 2026. | Yes, from Free (100 req/day) |
| Construction Monitor | National — 70+ metros | Roughly $200–800/month, with custom annual pricing scoped by territory and volume — as of August 2026. No flat, published self-serve tier structure was found. | No — custom quote by territory/volume |
| HBW / HBWeekly | Regional — FL/TX/GA/AL/OK, including Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, Austin | Quote-based, sales-led — no published pricing was found, as of August 2026. | No — sales-led only |
| PermitVector | Regional — TX/CO/FL/AZ/CA, 24 markets (9 in TX; no Dallas or Houston proper) | Pro and Power plans, with pricing not disclosed publicly; a 14-day trial is offered — as of August 2026. | Partial — 14-day trial, plan pricing undisclosed |
| ConstructConnect | National | Not published; sold as a platform subscription with a separate API deal — as of August 2026. | No — sales-led platform subscription |
| Dodge Construction Network | National | Sales-led with no published rates; pricing is scoped by geography, seats, and contract — as of August 2026. | No — sales-led, contract-scoped |
| GovWin IQ | National (government bid/contract intelligence) | Real deals run from $12,000/year for a single seat to $42,000+/year for enterprise access, averaging roughly $29,000/year — as of August 2026. | No — per-seat enterprise sales |
Competitor information on this page was independently compiled from public sources (pricing pages, product docs, and press coverage) as of August 2026. Vendors change pricing and features without notice. If something here is out of date or inaccurate, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
See what a Texas-native join gets you
Start free, get an API key in minutes, and query TDLR licensing, entity history, permits, and government bids in one call.